Clerk of District Court


The District Court Clerk’s office is responsible for maintaining the permanent records of all cases filed in the 4th Judicial District Court for Sheridan County dating back to the late 1800s.

Clerk of District Court Responsibilities

The staff is here to assist with processing documents, instruct on procedure, and aid in file research. Additional duties include:

  • Attend selected sessions of court;
  • File indictments, information and verdicts;
  • Process legal actions of a civil nature where claims exceed $50,000;
  • Provide copies of divorce decrees and maintain the records of divorce proceedings;
  • Prepare appellate records;
  • Record transcripts of judgment from the limited jurisdiction courts, and out-of-county/state judgments;
  • Oversee jury management;
  • Collect and disburse fines, court costs, forfeitures, fees, and service charges;
  • Collect and disburse court-ordered monies;
  • Issue Process;
  • Maintain court registry;
  • Audit guardianship and conservatorship reports;
  • Receive and distribute child support payments;
  • Compile and provide statistical data for state agencies and the judiciary; and

This office strives to help each and every person in a professional, efficient and respectful manner.

Did You Know?

  • Forms: A party wishing to act as his own attorney in a divorce, a modification for custody or child support, or a name change may purchase form packets from this office. The cost is $10 per packet except name changes which are $5.
  • Restitution: Criminal fees and restitution are tracked and receipted through this office and must be paid by cash or money order. We cannot accept checks for this purpose. Except in rare instances, restitution is paid to the victim the same day we receive it.
  • Important Notice: Please be advised that our staff is prohibited by state law from rendering legal advice, restating the law or recommending specific ways to pursue legal action. Many matters of law are quite complex and may require special knowledge of legal principles and procedures. If you have a problem involving the interpretation of the law, we suggest you contact an attorney licensed in the State of Wyoming. Although we cannot recommend a specific attorney, you may contact the Wyoming Lawyer Referral Service at (307)632-9061.